Wales’ world boxing champions

Howard Winstone's statue in Merthyr Tydfil

Howard Winstone’s statue in Merthyr Tydfil

A full list of Welsh boxers who have held professional world titles, named in chronological order.

Percy Jones:
World flyweight champion, 1914.
Note: This weight class was not officially recognised in the USA at the time

Freddie Welsh:
World lightweight champion, 1914-17

Jimmy Wilde:
World flyweight champion, 1916-23

Howard Winstone:
WBC featherweight champion, 1968

Steve Robinson:
WBO featherweight champion, 1993-95

Robbie Regan:
WBO bantamweight champion, 1996

Barry Jones:
WBO super-featherweight champion, 1997

Joe Calzaghe:
WBO super-middleweight champion, 1997-2008, IBF super-middleweight champion, 2006, WBA & WBC super-middleweight champion, 2007-8

Enzo Maccarinelli:
WBO cruiserweight champion, 2006-8

Gavin Rees:
WBA light-welterweight champion 2007-8

Nathan Cleverly:
WBO light-heavyweight champion, 2011-13, WBA ‘regular’ light-heavyweight champion, 2016-

Lee Selby:
IBF featherweight champion, 2015-

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply